Tag Archives: oat flour

Gluten-Free and Dairy-free Mini Hamentashen (not paleo)

 Gluten free * Vegetarian *  Parve

287

I know this does not look like the chicken soup recipe I promised you on Tuesday.  I totally forgot that tomorrow is Purim and Purim without Hamentashen is like Easter without the Easter Bunny, bagels without lox, franks without beans, New Year’s Eve without the Times Square Ball Drop.  If you are not familiar with Purim (or Hamentashen), it is a holiday when the story of Queen Esther (who risked her life to go to Persian king Ahasuerus and inform him that his prime minister Hamen (who wears a 3 cornered hat) is planning on hanging all the Jews in the land..) is retold.  And as you can sum up so many Jewish holidays: They tried to kill us; They failed; Let’s EAT – Hamentashen is what we eat. So I hope you haven’t taken that leftover chicken out of the freezer yet.  Leave it there and you will see chicken soup next week – and aren’t you glad I finally made a dessert? Continue reading Gluten-Free and Dairy-free Mini Hamentashen (not paleo)

Nuts about Oats (gluten and dairy free – not paleo)

Homemade Oat Flour and Pancake/Waffle Mix (gluten and dairy free – not paleo)

Wheat free * Dairy free * Gluten free * Vegetarian * Vegan * Parve

063

Welcome to mid-week posts.  These will be food facts, basic recipes, product evaluations, cookbook reviews, and anything else I think will be of interest to you.

Today’s post is about oats – oat flour to be exact.  As I experiment with wheat-free, gluten-free baking I’m finding oats to be my real go-to ingredient and since oats and oat flour will be making regular appearances here I thought this is a good time to share some info with you.

For gluten-free readers, let me start by saying that oats are gluten-free.  There is some debate or maybe much debate on the subject, but the fact remains that oats do not contain gluten.  Here are the two problems:

Some people are allergic or sensitive to oats  in addition to wheat.  This is something one tends to learn by trial and error.

Contamination.  Oat fields are usually planted near wheat fields and due to weather, harvesting, and production practices, it is not uncommon for some wheat to get mixed in with the oats – and that is why people who cannot tolerate wheat may have reactions to oats.   The good news is that some producers (most notable Bob’s Red Mill) do isolate oat crops from wheat and process them separately, making it possible to buy gluten-free oat products.

OAT FLOUR is just ground up oats.  If you have oatmeal, a blender or food processor, and a strainer in your  house, you have all you need to make oat flour.   I use oat flour for baking and cooking instead of “gluten-free all purpose flour” because I love the fact that it is just one ingredient, has no added starches or gums, and is made of something I heard of before I became wheat-free.

Now before I give you the recipe for oat flour I feel obliged to issue this Graphic WARNING: Continue reading Nuts about Oats (gluten and dairy free – not paleo)