Homemade Oat Flour and Pancake/Waffle Mix (gluten and dairy free – not paleo)
Wheat free * Dairy free * Gluten free * Vegetarian * Vegan * Parve
Welcome to mid-week posts. These will be food facts, basic recipes, product evaluations, cookbook reviews, and anything else I think will be of interest to you.
Today’s post is about oats – oat flour to be exact. As I experiment with wheat-free, gluten-free baking I’m finding oats to be my real go-to ingredient and since oats and oat flour will be making regular appearances here I thought this is a good time to share some info with you.
For gluten-free readers, let me start by saying that oats are gluten-free. There is some debate or maybe much debate on the subject, but the fact remains that oats do not contain gluten. Here are the two problems:
Some people are allergic or sensitive to oats in addition to wheat. This is something one tends to learn by trial and error.
Contamination. Oat fields are usually planted near wheat fields and due to weather, harvesting, and production practices, it is not uncommon for some wheat to get mixed in with the oats – and that is why people who cannot tolerate wheat may have reactions to oats. The good news is that some producers (most notable Bob’s Red Mill) do isolate oat crops from wheat and process them separately, making it possible to buy gluten-free oat products.
OAT FLOUR is just ground up oats. If you have oatmeal, a blender or food processor, and a strainer in your house, you have all you need to make oat flour. I use oat flour for baking and cooking instead of “gluten-free all purpose flour” because I love the fact that it is just one ingredient, has no added starches or gums, and is made of something I heard of before I became wheat-free.
Now before I give you the recipe for oat flour I feel obliged to issue this Graphic WARNING: Continue reading Nuts about Oats (gluten and dairy free – not paleo)