Wheat and Gluten-free

All of the recipes on this blog will be wheat-free and dairy-free and most will also be gluten-free. There will be reviews of gluten-free products and brands as well as references to them in ingredient lists where appropriate.

The difference between wheat-free and gluten-free is that all gluten-free foods are also wheat-free; but all wheat-free foods may not be gluten free (if you remember algebra, that would make wheat-free a subset of gluten-free).  The foods that contain gluten and may be included in these recipes are barley and rye.  I use these grains mostly in flour form in bread baking where a little gluten is a good thing.  Occasionally barley will appear in a soup or side dish, but neither rye nor barley will be a large part of this blog.

I use oats and distilled white vinegar, ingredients that are questionably gluten-free.  Although some people who can’t eat gluten react to oats; there is no gluten in oats.  The problem is in the growing and processing. Wheat and oats are frequently grown near each other and so it is possible that when oats are harvested some wheat gets in there as well.  These oats are then not suitable to a gluten-free diet.  However, there are growers that isolate the oats (like Bob’s Red Mill) and these are acceptable to most people on gluten-free diets.  Look for oat products that are labeled “Gluten-free”.

White vinegar is disputed because it is derived from wheat…that would make it off limits on a gluten-free diet – right?  Well not really.  It seems that in the process of distilling the vinegar the gluten is removed from the product.  Some people definitely do react to it and most don’t.  It’s up to you whether you want to try it or not.  You can generally substitute white wine vinegar or cider vinegar if you are skeptical.  Heinz distills it’s white vinegar from corn, not wheat, so that should be okay – but if you have doubts – skip it.

For more  information on gluten-free living, some  good sites are:  http://www.mayoclinic.org, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_diet, http://glutenfreegirl.com, http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com

I hope that, if you are wheat free or gluten free, you will find this blog useful to you.

Enjoy and let me know what you think or would like to see on this site.

2 thoughts on “Wheat and Gluten-free

  1. Yoour style is very unique compared too otger people I’ve read stuff from.
    I appreciate you for posing when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s